After a 12-0 run through the regular season, Ryan Day has taken home the Big Ten Coach of the Year award. That has historically been a very difficult feat for a Buckeyes head coach.

In their runs, John Cooper, Jim Tressel, and Urban Meyer all failed to win the award. You have to go all the way back to Earle Bruce's first season at the helm of the Buckeyes in 1979 to find the last Ohio State coach to win the award.

As Eleven Warriors notes, that fact is made even more interesting by the fact that Ryan Day was born that same year. He has quickly gone from mostly-unknown Meyer assistant to one of the top head coaches in college football.

Day earned the media vote for the award. The Buckeyes were expected to be good this fall, but Michigan was picked ahead of them at the outset of the season.

The Big Ten coaches went in a different direction with their votes, though. Minnesota's P.J. Fleck, who came out of nowhere to guide the Golden Gophers to a 10-2 season, won the coaches vote for the same award.

Ohio State recently took over the No. 1 spot in the College Football Playoff rankings, and should be in very good shape to make the field. Even if the Buckeyes lose to Wisconsin in Saturday's Big Ten Championship, there's a good chance Ohio State gets in as 12-1.

OSU has had an incredible scoring margin this fall, outscoring teams by an average of 49.9-11.8 through 12 games. Those numbers barely change when limited to Big Ten foes, moving to 48.4-12.9.

The Buckeyes and Badgers face off at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday night, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The game will be on FOX.

Continue Reading

on The Spun