The first race of the postseason will be the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Sunday.

Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr. and Denny Hamlin come into this event as favorites to win the season title as each driver has four wins on the year, but Kevin Harvick just earned his third -- so don't count him out just yet.

MORE: Watch the South Point 400 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Just like the regular season, if a driver wins they get into the second round of the playoffs. William Byron, Aric Almirola, Ryan Newman and Clint Bowyer all sit in the bottom four spots of the playoff standings so if any of those drivers grab a win, they will force their way into the second round.

To recap, NASCAR playoffs will go like this: there will be four rounds in the postseason with cutdowns to 12 drivers after three races, eight after six and four after nine. The final race of the year will be at Homestead-Miami Speedway where the final four drivers will race for the title.

The highest finisher of the four will be the Cup Series champion. Joey Logano is the defending champ and currently sits fifth in the postseason standings.

You can see a full rundown of the standings here.

The South Point 400 will take place Sunday, Sept. 15. Live coverage begins at 7 p.m. ET.

The South Point 400 will be broadcast nationally on NBCSN. The race also can be live-streamed on the NBC Sports App or by subscribing to fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial.

Here's a daily schedule of events leading up to the South Point 400.

Continue Reading

on Sporting News